Melodies and Memories…

It’s a lazy Tuesday afternoon after a sumptuous mid-day meal, and the mood here in my bay in office is laid-back and calm (the PM not being around might have got something to do with this ;)) The air has got a feel of self-contentment and camaraderie in it…my team-mates are going about their work with quiet efficiency, sharing jokes, some are working in groups, some by themselves, listening to music… Music!! How about I list down the first thing that comes to mind when I listen to some of my favourite songs?
Since I happen to be listening to some Kannada numbers now, I’ll do this exercise for these and may be on another lazy afternoon I’ll pick a few Hindi ones 😀
So here goes…

* Jotheyali… from Geetha – the song itself with Shankar Nag and the heroine, whom my parents insist is Arundhati Rao and me insists (thanks to some gyan from Rohini ;)) is her sister, Shobha… the debate rages on even now, every time the song’s on TV 😀

* Jeeva Veene… from Hombisilu – Vasundhara and Pranav singing it at the UVCE fests, used to love listening to them… really miss those days

* Naguva gulabi hoove… from Auto Raja – Sudhindra singing it (really well), at the new year party in class, final year BE

* Suryangu chandrangu bandaare munisu… from Shubhamangala – this fills me with a kind of inner glow and warmth. My dad says that his sis aka my aunt (who incidentally is no more…) used to sing this and feed me everyday, while pointing to the moon, me sitting on the compound wall… seems I wouldn’t eat till she did all the above…

* Naguva nayana… from Pallavi Anupallavi – it was the study holidays time somewhere in 2nd or 3rd year BE and I was there at home, all alone watching this beautiful movie on DD, Chandana channel. Knowing that I had to study and feeling guilty but unable to switch off the TV…

* Noorondu nenapu… from Bandhana – my dad imitating me singing this song at the age of 6-7 with overwhelming feeling, in my childish voice as “noorondu nelapu…”

* Doni Saagali… from Miss.Leelavathi – me and my colleague and friend, Shivu singing it at the Musical Nite here in MT, last year. It was a rendition very well appreciated by one and all; also the fact that we were the only ones to have chosen a Kannada song (this beautiful number penned by Kuvempu) for the evening, gave us immense satisfaction

And finally,

* Yaava mohana murali… from America America – nothing comes to mind really, am just filled with a sense of immense calm and complacency. Everytime I listen to it, I find finer nuances and deeper meanings in the words and voices of C.Ashwath and Rathnamala Prakash… one of my all time favourites.

Well, I’ve really enjoyed myself, jotting this down…feels good, going down memory lane.