Sorry in a saree?? Nah…

Today, I chose to wear a saree to work. By the end of the day, not less than 5 people will have asked me “what’s special??” October marks the completion of 2 years of my work experience. Foregoing the initial 3 months of training, at all other times, sarees have regularly (=> at least once in 2 weeks) featured in my office-wear wardrobe. Every single time, I’ve had people, ranging from my PM to the pantry guy, greeting me with a stupid grin and “what’s the occasion?” And I, with an equally (if not worse) stupid grin say, “Nothing, just like that…”

What amazes me is the unfailing regularity with which my colleagues throw this question at me. I guess the primary reason they do it, is ‘coz they know it gets me a trifle irritated, but still…they never seem to tire of it. What also amazes me is the observation that people don’t deem it necessary to pose a similar question to a girl in jeans. Why? ‘Coz that’s perfectly normal? So, why should it matter if I choose to dress up in a saree or wear bangles to match? Are we in the times where wearing a saree demands a special occasion? If nothing else, it’s a matter of personal choice!

Ever since my high-school days I’ve had this fancy for wearing sarees. The nakhras that I’ve had to face and the convincing acts that I’ve had to undertake to get my friends and class-mates to give me company, on the occasion of an ethnic day or a cultural fest, are known only to me (and of course, the others of the kind). Back then, I’d made a promise to myself, the day I’d be mistress of my own hard-earned money, amongst other things, I’d get myself a collection of sarees ๐Ÿ˜€ Though the numbers are not quite what I imagined, yet, I’ve taken the first few steps…

These days, at work, I have my cronies, Sandy and Teena to give me company. But of course, it doesn’t matter now. I’ve decided to do my own thing. At the end of the day, what matters, is that itโ€™s something I like doing, something that gives me happiness. After all, itโ€™s no fun letting the world dictate the terms of your life ๐Ÿ™‚