Talk of the Frangipani and the lure of firang-lands

Hellooo, I say ** and wait for the echoes to come back to me** ‘coz obviously there aren’t any readers here any more! ๐Ÿ˜€
Before I change my mind and think that it’s too much effort to type out a post, let me get on with what I have to say.

Firstly, I am thrilled that the very first flowers on my ‘Frangipani‘ plant have bloomed and there are many more buds ready to burst-forth! ๐Ÿ˜€ I’ve always wanted to have this plant (also called the “temple tree” as someone mentioned) in my home, mainly for it’s heavenly fragrance and the flowers themselves, which are so beautiful with their velvety shaded petals. And I was particular that I wanted this variety which had the smaller yellow flowers – not the pink ones or the long-petal-ed white ones! The gardener who got the plant for us must’ve prayed, and prayed hard – I’d threatened him of dire consequences if it turned out to be of any other variety! Did I already mention that I am thrilled?!! ๐Ÿ˜€

Sometimes I go back to my old blog posts and read what I’d written. Sometimes I flinch, but those occasions aren’t many – mostly I am left wondering if I indeed wrote all that at some point in time. I seemed to have so much to say! An opinion on everything, I’d find topics to write about so easily. Books that I read, movies I watched, trips that I went on, the everyday happenings, the events unfolding around the world – sporting and otherwise; I seemed to be so “tuned in”. These days if I think of writing something, I feel “zoned out”; like it is so much of an effort. It’s like I have this a sudden urge to write – something, anything! But most often I’m unable to type out a post at a stretch and later in the day I am back in the seemingly thought-less void!

Nevertheless to get on with the post, amongst other everyday happenings we managed to catch a night show of the movie “Airlift” recently. We liked the movie – although it is not an exact representation, it is a take of the events that unfolded in Kuwait in the early 90sย and how a couple of individuals and the Indian government came to the rescue of the 1.7 lakh Indian refugees who were holed upย at Kuwait after the Iraqi attack. Akshay Kumar‘s character is based on the lives of two businessmen whose almost heroic efforts were instrumental in getting these people back home during the crisis situation. I especially loved the role played by the seemingly inconsequential Joint Secretary in the External Affairs ministry; all said and done he had a major role to play in getting the Indian govt. to act! At the end of the movie as they flashed the statistics of it being the single biggest airlift operation in the world – with Indian Airlines flying in nearly 490 flights over 50 days to evacuate all those people, I had goosebumps and my heart swelled with pride! The movie brought a lump to my throat, a similar memory I have is from my school days when we’d watched Border – the story of how a few dozen men fought the fierce battle at the border to wrench control from enemies, for the country’s sake; not caring for their lives or their families.

When I look at friends and aquaintances and hear of them flying away to far-off lands in search of better opportunities and a better lifestyle, I wonder. As it happens, most often, once you go and start living elsewhere, especially when it offers a more conducive atmosphere for your work and life, doesn’t it become more and more difficult to get back to the homeland knowing the harsh realities that await you here? When we as adults find it so difficult to adjust, just spare a thought for the young kids who’re bundled off, who’ve never seen anything of the kind to be even prepared for! No doubt the foreign shores have much to offer but does it outweigh the feeling of being at one’s home, amongst family and friends? And what about these external factors on which one doesn’t have control – like the harsh weather extremities or the insurgent revolts or the terrible terror attacks? One has to be ready to sign up for all these too, along with all the niceties, isn’t it? Of course, there’s no guarantee that one’s own country is free from all these – but doesn’t it make sense to have one’s family, friends and support systems firmly around, to face such difficulties?

January also saw me making a quick trip to Kerala to attend a friend and ex-colleague’s wedding, with family and another colleague’s family in tow. The wedding itself held at the famous temple premises in the town of Guruvayur was a quickie andย we spent some time exploring the surrounding attractions. The said collegue has already flown away from her nest, to settle in the hinterlands of Amreeka. Sigh! One can’t help but feel for her aging parents – who of course were thrilled to see her getting married! But how about being around when they need you the most in their sunset years?

Guess, it’s a very debatable topic. I, for one, have always believed and will continue to believe that with all it’s flaws and fantasies, India is the place to be, for me. There’s nothing, and I mean absolutely nothing that is really worthwhile enough, to leave and head away from here!ย India – with her myriad extremes is truly incredible – while there is beauties galore, there are several beasts one has to battle with too. But as I mentioned, at the end of the day, it’s home! ๐Ÿ™‚

4 thoughts on “Talk of the Frangipani and the lure of firang-lands

  1. Those flowers smell heavenly! I took in their fragrance when coming in yesterday. ๐Ÿ™‚ I love them too. Reminds me of our quarters stay.
    We loved the movie Airlift too, which we got to watch, thanks to you! ๐Ÿ™‚ Akshay Kumar in a different avatar was good to watch!
    You should write more frequently. Force yourself to write and it becomes easier soon. The longer the break, the longer it takes to restart. Readers will just be lurking around the corner to read. Btw why am I not getting updates from your blog when you post? I don’t see the Follow button either. What have you done? ๐Ÿ˜ก ๐Ÿ˜€

  2. Your questions on people who fly away from home country left me intrigued.
    You are absolutely right – With time, it gets harder to move back, given the amount of adjusting back to do. When kids are involved, it is multifold difficult. But, if you are sure about returning back home, you will, no matter what. I have seen and known people like that.

    Sadly, for others like us, who aren’t sure yet, the questions you ask still lurk around. But, we do not regret being away. Barring occasional home sickness, we love the little world that we have created here. Doesn’t mean we don’t love the homeland either.

    I guess, there is no one answer. To each his/her own piece of earth….to thrive and flourish ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Of course AHK, when people want to move back they will, but adjusting becomes so difficult. In fact this becomes a factor in determining if and when people want to move back. I have so many friends sailing in the same boat – with hearts here and the hearth there and ageing parents and kids added to the equation – uncertainties abound! It makes me sad ๐Ÿ˜ฆ
      I guess, as you say, to each his own – there’s no one simple answer! ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

