Simple aagondu anniversary and more…

It was our anniversary a couple of days ago and after a long time, we went to watch a movie together in the theatre. As my other counterparts would agree, watching a simple movie becomes quite a challenge after one has a baby! After nearly two years, we managed to convince ourselves that it’s ok to spend a day on our own while the kiddo was at school.

We watched the Kannada movie – ‘Simple aag ond love story’. Nothwithstanding the cheesy title, I can say that it was a movie we enjoyed watching – the cinematography and the scenic shots in Coorg are beautiful and some of the songs (especially the one sung by Sonu Nigam and another female solo by Sowmya Rao) are soulfully rendered. But the movie’s biggest strength are it’s dialogues – they’re crisp, sometimes in-your-face, funny, interesting, thought-provoking(?) and hold the story together. Both the lead actors are newcomers – Rakshit Shetty and Shwetha Shrivastav – though the latter is a familiar face on TV I guess. Both of them have acted well and carry the film through, but I thought that Rakshit was especially good – the way he rattled off those dialogues and carries off the different looks in the movie is commendable.
On the downside, though they called it a simple love story, I found that the story was a little too incredible and not very plausible. Also I felt that they could’ve used other people for the flashback scenes which form a major part of the movie – though I must say that Rakshit was equally brilliant in those scenes from the past too.That apart we enjoyed a quiet dinner out with the sonny boy and the day went by in a flash and the anniversary was done and dusted, even before we realized!

Among other stuff, life goes on as usual – amidst hours spent at work and at home with the little one. Now with his pigtails given to ‘maami’ at Nanjangud, he looks and behaves quite like a big boy; who still chatters non-stop though! He goes to a different day-care now which he likes much better and doesn’t mind going to. We’re a month away from sending him to big school and I can’t believe that my little baby is now so grown up that he will go to school on his own in the van with the other kids! He is never short of talk though and I love hearing him chatter, though it does get overwhelming at times! πŸ˜€
Some samplers:
Ellige hogtaiddiya? naanu barteeni – whenever he sees his appa or me opening the door!
Ivattu kaalu/palya/chapathi mam-mam madtidyaa? – whenever he sees me getting stuff ready for the next day’s meal
oota madona banni, chaape haakiddini – appa saaku TV nodiddu banni – kanda, ammane first, appa last (or vice versa depending on his mood)
These days all of us sit together on the kitchen floor and have dinner – we started doing this to get him to eat on his own. He has learnt to eat by himself – though he chatters non-stop and makes a mess sometimes, meal-times are a lot less stressful and get done quickly these days!
amma nange jeans pant haaku (anytime that we have to go out, sometimes there are tantrums and I am reminded of my friends telling me this about their sons and how I’d given gyan to them about handling such demanding kids – it all comes back to bite your butt, I tell ya!)
– when we’re watching IPL and shout SIX! or OUT! he repeats saying – six-ante! out-ante! πŸ˜€
– he loves listening and dancing to the beats of jhampak-jhapang! says jhampak-jhapang-giligiliye annu!
– he now knows his grandparents’ names and his chikki-chikappa’s names, his dodamma and atte’s names too…and several of his appa’s friends and their sons/daughters names πŸ™‚
– he still loves listening to his amma sing at bedtimes and makes demands like – doni saagalu helu, mungaarina abhishekake helu or sakshatkaara helu… he clings to me like a little monkey and pulls across my hand saying – thatti maadu and falls asleep on many days.
I’m amazed at his grasping power especially with these songs – I’ve observed that I would’ve sung them just once or twice and he would’ve picked up parts of the lyrics even from the antaras and sings them when he is playing or is in a good mood!It has happened a couple of times and I’ve been pleasantly surprised every time.
– If he’s asking us a question and we’re hmm-ing and haw-ing through it, he says yaake, baayi bittu maatadu parvagilla! πŸ˜€

Well, that will give you an idea of the extent to which his thought processes and conversations around them have evolved πŸ™‚
However big he talks and acts and says – naanu eega doddavanaagiddini; he still is my puttu-bangaari and even to this day, I am fascinated by his antics and expressions and the ease with which he talks.Β Sometimes I just look at him when he is fast asleep –Β that is the sight/ moment when my heart really feels full – with warmth, love and gratefulness for having this blessing in our lives πŸ™‚

7 thoughts on “Simple aagondu anniversary and more…

  1. Oh so beautiful yet again Anu!! πŸ™‚ I just logged in to write a post, saw yours and got engrossed πŸ™‚ Wish I understood kannada as well as you all do, would enjoy the lil tyke’s statements whole heartedly! However, with what lil I understand, your last statement sums it all up πŸ™‚ well, that’s an understatement! Lots of love, hugs and kisses to him!
    P.S: Does ‘yaake, baayi bittu maatadu parvagilla!’ roughly translate to ‘Open your mouth, use your words to talk, it’s ok?? I say it so often to my lil one!

    • wow! that was quick Dwija! πŸ˜€
      You know, I did think of you while writing the post – that you might not be able to get all of the stuff in Kannada…but there’s no way that I can translate all his cute words into English – it just won’t have the same effect πŸ˜‰
      And you’re bang on with your deduction of that last statement! Here the roles are reversed, we get to hear it from his majesty!
      See, you’re good at it, you just need some more effort in Kannada and you’ll get it all! πŸ˜€
      Now I’m off to check out your post…

  2. Hi Anu, I’ve read your blog before and I’ve always enjoyed it. I loved how your little one has picked up talking so well. Hugs to him! Your blog always reminds of Bangalore… which I really miss sometimes. πŸ™‚

    • hey, thanks a lot Medhu for stopping by and commenting! πŸ™‚ Will definitely pass on your hugs to my li’l one and I can totally understand that you miss Bangalore… I can’t imagine staying elsewhere! πŸ˜€

  3. Belated wishes on your anniversary Anu..a movie night together is the sometimes good enough, especially if the movie was as good as you suggest. It took a couple of years to tell ourseves it’s okay to leave the kid behind and get out as a couple sometimes πŸ™‚

    Putaaniya tunta matugaLu sogasaagivey kelokey πŸ™‚

    He sure is picking up a lot.

    You sing all the olden goldies instead of lullabies..that’s nice! Should try it too.

    • thanks a lot AHK! πŸ™‚ Yeah it is always difficult to not feel guilty about getting away, even if it is for a couple of hours isn’t it? πŸ˜€
      Yeah, he does talk a lot… and leaves us entertained and amazed in turns! Yeah I just sing the songs that I like and know… not necessarily lullabies and he loves them and sings them in his cute voice, which I love listening to! πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

