Muddle-head me

The dear guy needs to be handed over a special prize for putting up with a muddle-headed-me!

Having pre-decided the menu for the day I get up early as usual and quickly go about preparing the lunch and breakfast dishes. He soon joins me and helps wrap up and finish the morning chores. I leisurely also pack the lunch for the two of us, happy that the morning is turning out to be a well planned and executed one.

After a quick bath, I also have time enough to have my breakfast without rushing while he says he too will have a quick shower before he can drop me to my cab-stop. I finish the customary pooja, eat and get ready to have all stuff handy – the handbag, lunchbag and sweater,Β to leave. He too is ready and we lock the house and leave with 5 minutes to spare.

He drops me at the stop and I goad him to get back quickly so that he can reach office early as well. The cab arrives, I climb in and take a seat and that’s when I realize – I’ve left my lunch bag at home! I call him, he has just reached home, says he will come back, but I say the cab has already left for the next stop which is quite nearby too. He says he will try and intercept the cab on its way. I see him reach the main road, but our cab zooms ahead and is weaving through the traffic.

On the main road, he calls again to say he can’t figure out our cab as there are several alike,Β all enroute to reach the office campus! I am confused and panicky by now and chicken out from getting up and asking the driver to stop for a few minutes. He ends up following us for the entire 7-8 kms stretch and has to reach the office campus to actually meet me and hand over the bag.

I am feeling so sad and pitiful. I so deserve to be thwacked! 😦

5 thoughts on “Muddle-head me

  1. Oh dear, don’t know what to say. You could have got out of the cab and taken a ride with him!
    yeah, that’s one way of looking at it I suppose…but I was thinking of ways to avoid his coming all the way. Anyway what’s done is done, I’ve apologised but I will not forget this is a hurry! 😦

  2. Hehehe… This is how I used to feel initially when he would wait for hours outside my office after a tired day at work. Stupid me would forget to inform him of the last minute conference call and would not answer my phone when he would try to reach me. But now it is an accepted norm from both the sides πŸ™‚

    Our hubbies will say – ‘neevugalu yavattu uddhaara aagolla!!’ They must be so frustrated with us na?!! πŸ˜€

  3. Awww..that’s one really sweet hubby there πŸ™‚
    Mine would have asked me to just eat in my cafeteria instead of following the cab πŸ˜€

    But, have been there in slightly different scenarios too..felt embarrassed later .

    You have said your sorries alwa?…now tis time to recall the silly event and laugh it off !

    BTW, you guys seem to have settled down well in your new home already. Nice! πŸ™‚
    Post some pics na?

    he he! yeah I did tell him that I will eat in the cafeteria, but he knows how much I dislike that and so he literally followed me! πŸ˜€
    yeah, we’ve settled down quite well I must say… will try to take a few pics and post, no internet at home and rather difficult to do it at work 😦

  4. Awwww that was so very sweet of your husband!

    First time here. Hi!! πŸ™‚

    hey, welcome here! thanks for stopping by! πŸ™‚
    yeah he is a rather sweet husband most of the times! πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

