The Indian Vegetarian 100 meme!

I guess the only way to get myself to update this blog is to get tagged! 😀

Here’s another one that Anamika asked me to do…

The meme is to:

  • Copy this entire list, along with these instructions, into your blog post
  • Bold the foods that you have tried
  • Strike out the foods you would never try
  • Tell us your score in the comments 🙂
  • If you wish to, make your own list or add to this one

So, here’s my list with my accompanying tippani for the particularly vernacular ones… the ones in black are what I’ve never tried.

 1. Ripe mangoes
2. Curd rice
3. Chaat
4. Phulka
5. Puran poli obbattu/ holige in our language!
6. Boiled peanuts
7. Samosa
8. Stuffed baby eggplants
9. Aviyal
10. Stuffed paratha
11. Masala chai
12. Tirphal
13. Murukku
14. Curry leaves
15. Banana chips fried in coconut oil
16. Jaggery
17. Vada pav
18. Tender coconut water
19. Paneer
20. Madras filter coffee
21. Boondi laddoo
22. Boondi raita
23. Navratan korma
24. Kokum
25. Masala peanuts
26. A home-cooked Indian vegetarian meal
27. Sugarcane juice
28. Sabudana/sago in any form
29. Horsegram
30. Maggi noodles
31. Podi with rice and ghee
32. Roomali roti
33. Bitter gourd
34. Nylon sev
35. Vegetable biryani
36. Thali at a restaurant
37. Plantain flower
38. Undhiyu
39. Nimbu pani
40. Papad
41. Kotthu parotta
42. Panch phoran
43. Drumsticks
44. Indian “French toast”
45. Sarson ka saag
46. Bhakri
47. Pav bhaji
48. Sitaphal
49. Glucose biscuits (??!!)
50. Sprouts
51. Chole-bhature
52. Amla
53. Tomato “omelet”
54. A wedding feast
55. Grilled corn on the cob with lemon juice, salt and chilli powder
56. Cadbury’s fruit and nut chocolate
57. Sai bhaji
58. Solkadi
59. Indian-Chinese meal
60. Jalebi
61. Black forest cake
62. Bharwa bhindi
63. Kashmiri saffron
64. Misal
65. Ripe jackfruit
66. Idli-chutney
67. ‘Tadgola’Taati nungu for us locals!
68.
Bhut jolokia
69. Baby mango pickle
70. Meal off a banana leaf
71. Falooda
72. Moong khichdi
73. Bebinca
74. Daal baati
75. Methi greens
76. Basundi
77. Gunpowder the lazy wife’s savior – chutney-pudi! 😀
78.
Appam-stew
79. Sweet lemon pickle
80. Ridge gourd
81. Bisi bele bhath
82. Coconut burfi
83. Caramel custard
84. Thechaor the green chilli chutney
85. Rasam
86. Baingan bharta
87. Mysore pak
88. Punjabi wadi
89. Chhundais nothing but the Mango murabba
90. Dal makhani
91. Paper dosa
92. Gongura
93. Hand-churned butter
94. Pakoda
95. Curd chillies
96. Mustard oil
97. Fresh cashews
98. Tomato pickle
99. Rajma-chawal
100. Chaas

My score is 85%. I found the names of several dishes unfamiliar, it is only when I clicked on the links did I realize – oh! This is that!! 😀 It has been an interesting way to get to know more about several dishes/ items.

Paneer has never been in my list of favourites and I almost always avoid eating it, even when I am in a group and we order some paneer dish. Kokum – I think I have drunk the canned juice once and don’t remember liking it. Although the pics in that link make it look drool-icious!

One entry in the list above which I found totally funny was the Glucose biscuits! Seeing them mentioned in the 100 vegetarian Indian dishes list had me laughing out loud! 😀

For some of the things which I would have liked to see on the list, I am again picking most from Anamika’s list –
1.
Gajar Halwa
2. PanhaI had to look this one up from her list, but then once I did, I said yes!
3.
Onion Pakoda
4. Puliyogare

The ones which are not in her list and I would like to have in mine are – 
5. Veg-pudina-pulao
6. Tomato-capsicum gojju 

But I really couldn’t find a recipe that prepares them the way I like. I guess I will need to put up my own recipe!!

Anyway, I suppose if I sit down to think, there might be many more which I’d like added to this list… but can’t seem to do it now. So, I pass on this task to any of you who might be interested! Happy dish-dicovering!!

One thought on “The Indian Vegetarian 100 meme!

  1. Yeah, even I wondered about glucose biscuits. Another thing was black forest cake. There is nothing Indian or vegetarian about it, considering that cakes have eggs (mostly). Also Cadbury fruit and nut chocolate? Isn’t chocolate mainly western? Nevertheless, had fun with the meme.

    Chhunda is not really murabba. The latter is totally sweet whereas chhunda is more like pickle. My mom makes chhunda to have raw mangoes all the year round to make mango chutney.

    I am surprised you didn’t like kokum. You probably didn’t taste the best available. Try eating a raw kokum. It’s yum.

    Veg pudina pulav? That sounds yum. Recipe please!

    yeah, I suppose black forest cake and cadbury chocolates also logically shouldn’t find a place in this list…but glucose biscuits was the funniest! 😀
    oh ok, chhunda sounded just like murabba in that link… so I thought it must be the same. Whatever it is that your mom makes, it sounds yummy and I like pickles of all sort too! 🙂
    Hmm… I should try eating a raw kokum sometime when I get the chance.

    he he! it’s nothing special… it’s the normal pulao we make at home, just that I like what my mom and we make without too much masala unlike the hotel stuff. Sure, will try to put up the recipe sometime.

Leave a Reply

