Of clothes, colours and choices…

Some lessons are learnt the hard way, as I realized yet again yesterday.

Being the elder of the two daughters, I learnt the importance of responsibility at a young age. When I was a school going kid, 8-9 years of age, I was the one assigned the task of getting my little sister from her crรจche, and taking care of her in the after-school-hours, till my parents got home from work. Though it was a matter of a couple of hours, as one will agree, it was no mean task.

That example might give one an idea of the clout I enjoyed in the homestead. Even as we sisters grew up, I was the one considered to be the silent, mature type, and also, more responsible of the two. She being the youngest was the baby of the family, she still is! ๐Ÿ™‚ As a consequence, my opinions mattered, my suggestions in household-matters heeded-to and my choice always respected. I was, never once, told that my choice was bad or not up to the mark.

Since this post is about my choice in clothes and colours, let me be specific – anything I bought โ€“ for self or others, was appreciated, whole-heartedly. Not being particularly fair-skinned, my choice for self always veered towards the subtle, softer shades, which I thought were elegant and toned down. I did not prefer gaudy, in-your-face kind of stuff. Funnily, now that I think back, all of us โ€“ my parents and sister seemed to be of the same opinion.

And funnily again, everyone in my married household think otherwise! Two years into the marriage I have been told several times by many people that my choice is โ€œdullโ€ and โ€œnot inspiringโ€. This has now happened so many times โ€“ people not liking what I choose โ€“ that the confident, self-assured me when it comes to choosing designs and colours, is besotted with doubts every time I have to buy stuff!

Now, after much deliberation, I have decided that I will henceforth not buy / purchase clothes for people, without them being present in person on the occasion. It is simply too much of a hassle to first buy, then face the disappointment of it not being liked and finally go back for an exchange.

A gift, I realize, is loved best when it is a surprise and is loved at first-sight. The gift, otherwise, only turns into an unpleasant surprise.

8 thoughts on “Of clothes, colours and choices…

  1. Don’t worry… I’m always here to take surprise gifts… Anytime ๐Ÿ™‚ I completely agree that a gift are cherished more when its a surprise ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. [saumya] – hey, welcome back! where have you been all these days? ๐Ÿ˜€
    [xyz] – hee hee! what would I do without you? ๐Ÿ™‚
    [namrata] – hearty welcome to you too! ๐Ÿ™‚ Back in Bangalore? How does it feel?

  3. Even I prefer soft, light shades when it comes to clothes.
    I think the idea of the person being present to choose the gift being given to him/her is quite good. Also, another problem with choosing clothes is the size. You can never be sure if it fits the person well…you can only make an educated guess. Added to that, different brands follow different specifications with regard to size. (That is the reason why I usually stick to one brand of shirts…called “Onzone”! Yeah..stupid name..but it fits me quite well and I like it ๐Ÿ™‚ )

  4. [Raghu] – size can be a tricky factor… my colleague did try to confuse me saying that for the brand I was buying I had to choose one size bigger… I just decided to stick with the regular…and thankfully it fit perfectly! ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. I prefer not to shop for clothes at all as gifts. I instead keep a secret wishlist and surprise people with that ๐Ÿ™‚

    Agree with you, a gift that begets no pleasure on sight lessens the will to give.

Leave a Reply

