Weekly update

It turned out to be quite an eventful week.
First, there the news that our year and a half old project was finally gonna end and all of us would be released; there’s the additional joy at being assigned to what-looks-to-be a challenging new role and project.

Though I say joy, there is a lingering feeling of sadness somewhere – at the thought of moving away from the familiar tasks, the so-used-to daily routine, the comfort of the current cubicle, the customers โ€“ more friends than people whom one reported into, the once-mere-team mates-now-turned-friends and most importantly the feeling of not belonging to that project any longer, the one which fetched us the team-of-the-year award and gave me innumerable memories and invaluable nuggets of experience in my early years of work. I guess itโ€™s the feeling of familiarity, with people and all things, that I’m gonna miss the most. Sigh! One has to move onโ€ฆ

Then there was the team outing to ‘wonder-la’. This is the latest amusement and theme park to have made its presence felt in Bengalooru** All of us had a blast there; owing to the onset of what I knew would be a bad cold, in which *sniffle sniffle* I can take the credit of not been proved wrong, I stayed away from the water rides, watched enviously as my colleagues freaked out. But I more than made up at the dry rides; sat in almost all of them, including, what’s called the *high thrill* rides ๐Ÿ˜€
But the one I liked best was what they call the “wonder splash”. Its this ride where a group of 10-12 people sit in the rows of what looks like a wooden carriage, this then slowly goes up the slopy-track, turns through a tunnel, picks up lot of speed at the turning and races down the parallel descending track into a big pool of water. The ride is designed in such a way that this movement into the water is an unforgettable experience. The carriage hurtles down at top speed and then suddenly everything seems to happen in slow motionโ€ฆ time seems to stop still as there is a whooโ€ฆsh and cool water is sprayed on u from all sides. It was an amazing experience!! ๐Ÿ™‚
Also they have a camera placed at just the right position to capture the moment in a picture, which u can take a print of, for a price of Rs.45; which u can’t resist after that ethereal ride ๐Ÿ˜€ Strategic thinking, huh?

But of course the grouse that I have now is this cold which seems to take a fancy to me every few weeks; this in-spite of me taking all precautions to avoid it. It is the 3rd time this winter that I’m tussling with one. The common cold, I think, is the most-under-rated ailment that can affect us humans. Though outwardly it seems unimportant to be taken seriously, it leaves the sufferer indisposed to do any kinda job. One has no choice but to grin and bear it till it chooses to go away!

** Having read the article in TOI today about the decision to rename Bangalore to Bengalooru, I’ve decided to henceforth refer to it by the latter name ๐Ÿ˜€

3 thoughts on “Weekly update

  1. The common cold, I think, is the most-under-rated ailment that can affect us humans.
    Rightly said. The worst thing is that I don’t get sleep when I have a cold. I keep tossing and turning. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. [arun] – it’s a very good spot for a day’s outing, one can have loads of fun, provided one is not too scared of the rides ๐Ÿ˜€
    [raghu] – yeah, that’s when my nostrils take turns in getting blocked ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

